Strategic Planning
Georgia Southern University

Carnegie Service & Community Engagement Steering Committee

Charge

The Carnegie Foundation defines the area of community engagement as the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities (local, regional, state, national and global) for the mutual beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in the context of partnerships and reciprocity.

This committee is charged with ensuring that Georgia Southern’s documentation is extensive and substantive, and that we define, interpret, and respond to institutional identity and service and community engagement activities, on and off campus. The committee has been chosen with representative, active, experienced members who have a history of working together successfully.

Areas to be addressed are:

  • Assessment
      1. Accessing community perceptions of institutional engagement
      2. Tracking and recording of institution-wide engagement (on campus/off campus) data
      3. Assessment of the impact of community engagement on students, faculty, staff, community and institution
      4. Identification and assessment of student learning outcomes in curricular engagement on and off-campus
  • Reciprocal partnerships
      1. Initiate and nurture collaborative, two-way partnerships
      2. Develop ongoing strategies for systematic communication within those two-way partnerships
  • Faculty, staff, students
      1. Campus based and disciplined-based professional service
      2. Community service that ranges from volunteerism to consultation
  • Integration and alignment with other institutional initiatives
      1. First-year programs that include community engagement
      2. Learning communities in which community engagement is integrated into the design
      3. Diversity initiatives that explicitly link active and collaborative community based
Membership
Wendell Tompkins (Chair) Director, Alumni Relations/Annual Giving wtompkins@georgiasouthern.edu
Ted Moore Provost tmoore@georgiasouthern.edu
Ron Core Vice President for Business & Finance rcore@georgiasouthern.edu
Teresa Thompson Vice President of Student Affairs & Enrollment Management Thompson@georgiasouthern.edu
Jean Bartels Council of Deans jbartels@georgiasouthern.edu
Tony Bretti Associate Vice President, Continuing Education tbretti@georgiasouthern.edu
Dorsey Baldwin Staff Council dbaldwin@georgiasouthern.edu
Clara Krug Faculty Senate ckrug@georgiasouthern.edu
Brent Tharp Outreach Organizations (Museum) btharp@georgiasouthern.edu
Henry Whitfield Coastal Georgia Center hwhitfield@georgiasouthern.edu
Christian Flathman Marketing & Communications cflathman@georgiasouthern.edu
Russell Keen Government Relations rkeen@georgiasouthern.edu
Simone Charles Assistant Professor, Environmental Health Sciences scharles@georgiasouthern.edu
Michael Braz Retired Professor mbraz@georgiasouthern.edu
Katherine Hilson Student Government Association kh00426@georgiasouthern.edu
Minutes

To be scheduled.

Last updated: 2/26/2014

Office of the President • P.O. Box 8033 Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-5211